Grad Member Spotlight: Tara Eicher

TaraTara Eicher
PhD, Computer Science
The Ohio State University
Tara has been a member of SWE since 2012.  She is currently the first graduate representative for the Ohio State University section. As the graduate rep, she has designed and hosted new events for graduate students and networked with existing graduate student organizations to increase awareness of the group.
Tara is an active young researcher. She has an upcoming publication in this year’s International Joint Conference on Neural Networks conference proceedings.  Her campus research is funded by a university fellowship. She is also a member of the electrical engineering honor society, Eta Kappa Nu. Congratulations, Tara, on all you’ve accomplished! Keep up the great work!

What is your degree program (MS/PhD, department)? When do you expect to graduate?

I am a first-year PhD student in the computer science department. I expect to graduate in 2021.

Give a brief explanation of your research.
My research applies computational methods to genomics data analysis. My current project involves designing an algorithm for detecting open chromatin, or regions of DNA that are accessible for protein binding. Having an accurate algorithm for this analysis could enable computational biologists to more accurately characterize the influence of binding patterns on genetic expression.

What do you want to do with your degree? What are your career goals?
I hope to obtain a position in academia at a major research institution. I am planning to do a post-doc after graduating.

What are some of your hobbies? What do you do in your free time?
I love nature, cooking, and listening to music. In my free time I usually go for walks, meet up with friends, or watch T.V.

What’s a fun fact about you?
I grew up in a military family, so I have lived in many places around the U.S. I did my undergrad at Wichita State University, Home of the Shockers.
Leave a Reply

