Grad Member Spotlight: Aqsa Fulara


aqsa-fularaAqsa Fulara

M.S., Engineering Management

University of Southern California

A member of the SWE since 2015, Aqsa actively serves the graduate and undergraduate community at USC. At USC, she is involved with other student organizations that work closely with SWE at USC, like the Viterbi Graduate Student Association (VGSA), Engineering Management Student Association (EMSA), and most recently the Business Technology Networking Group (BTNG). During her time with these organizations, Aqsa works to bring professional development and networking opportunities in order to secure industry jobs, by planning Company Information Sessions, Tech Panels, Mentoring programs and Social Mixers. Aqsa also served as a liaison between the ISE graduate students and the USC Graduate Office as a Senator with VGSA.

In addition to her extracurricular involvement, Aqsa has excelled in her academics. She received a scholarship during her undergrad in India, based on merit-CET marks. She also actively participates at several competitions, and has been a finalist at several competitions, some of which include USC Marshall Datathon 2016, WCE Elite Feats Startup Pitch Competition(India) and MEMPC Business Simulation Game(USC). Congratulations, Aqsa, on all you’ve accomplished! Keep up the great work!

What is your degree program (MS/PhD, department)? When do you expect to graduate?

I am currently in my last semester at USC pursuing Masters in Engineering Management, with a focus on data and business analysis. I expect to graduate in May 2017. I have my bachelors in Computer Science and Engineering from Walchand College of Engineering, India.

Give a brief explanation of your industry experience.
My major is very industry focused, and gives an opportunity to advance and excel in your undergrad area of expertise. I am fortunate to have multiple internship experiences. Most recent ones include the Technical Solutions Intern at CornerStone OnDemand, Santa Monica. Another notable includes my time at SoCalGas, Los Angeles as an intern with the e-Services team, mainly as a Business Analyst.

What do you hope to do with your degree? What are your career goals?
I am very focused on using technology within organizations. I plan to pursue a career in industry, and fulfill a role at the interface between technology and business. I aspire to grow as a leader and manager in a role where I can contribute to project and product management, as well as innovation in technology.

What are some of your hobbies? What do you do in your free time?
In my free time, I go for the zumba classes. I also like meeting new people, shopping and traveling. In California, I also enjoy the beaches.

What’s a fun fact about you?
I am a foodie, and have tried over 10 different cuisines. I have also never enjoyed junk food, and am a huge preacher of healthy foods!
Leave a Reply

