Grad Member Spotlight: Xueying Wang

gradmemberspotlight_xueyingwangXueying Wang

PhD student, Computer Science and Engineering Department

University of Notre Dame

Xueying has been involved in SWE since starting her Master’s program in 2014 at the University of the Pacific (UOP). Now, as a PhD student at Notre Dame, she is continuing to be involved in SWE. While at UOP, she participated in the Team Tech competition and spent 10 months working with Jose Hernandez, a previous NASA astronaut, to design a CubeSAT along with UPAEP, a university in Puebla Mexico. She also is a passionate outreach volunteer and has participated in numerous programs such as ones for the Girl Scouts and the Expand your Horizons program at UOP.

Xueying has been awarded the certificate of recognition by the UOP SWE Section. Also, she came in second place at the 2015 SWE annual conference Team Tech competition. Congratulations, Xueying, on all you’ve accomplished! Keep up the great work!

What is your degree program (MS/PhD, department)? When do you expect to graduate?

I am pursuing my PhD in Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Notre Dame. I anticipate graduating in 2020. I also have a masters degree in Computer Science from the University of the Pacific (May 2016).

Give a brief explanation of your research.
I am currently in computer vision research lab of University of Notre Dame. The field I focus on is biometric recognition, which includes fingerprint recognition, iris recognition, face recognition etc.

What do you hope to do with your degree? What are your career goals?
Computer science is a tool. All computer scientists are using their knowledge to change this world, to make it better and better. This is what I want to do as well. I would like to become a professor because teaching makes me feel needed. When you teach, you are not only the person who transfers technology, you can also be an important influencer in students’ lives by encouraging and supporting them. I am very grateful to the teachers who have supported me. Therefore, I want to pass their kindness onto the next generation.

What are some of your hobbies? What do you do in your free time?Travel and Photograph are my top 2 hobbies. And, lucky me, they always come at the same time. The scenery of cities is beautiful and full of the wisdom of humanity. Meanwhile, nature is powerful and full of wonder. By taking photos, I can memorize amazing moments and find the beauty of life.

What’s a fun fact about you?
I have a nickname from my close friends: 386. The reason is, sometimes I can be too focused on my work to notice that people are talking to me, just like a i386 processor, which can only process one request at a time.
Leave a Reply

