Grad Member Spotlight: Jennifer Williams

28 Dec 2015

12_283_Jenifer_Williams0228a

Jennifer Williams

PhD Student, Electrical and Computer Engineering, expected graduation May 2018

Oregon State

Jennifer has been a member of SWE since 2008 and has volunteered and served in various roles including Graduate Advisor from 2011 to 2014. She has been recognized for her scholarly achievements through many scholarship and fellowships, most notably the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship as well as an NSF scholarship. Congratulations, Jennifer, on all you’ve accomplished! Keep up the great work!

 

What is your degree program (MS/PhD, department)? When do you expect to graduate?

Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Oregon State University (in progress)

May 2018 anticipated graduation

 

Give a brief explanation of your research

My research is centered in wireless sensor networks and energy-efficient communications for sensing systems as applied to ecological monitoring. I am fascinated by the way technology enables us to study the environment with low-power remote systems and sustainable networks for long-term observations.

From a communications and signal processing standpoint, my research takes an interdisciplinary approach to address challenges unique to environmental sensing and wildlife monitoring. Although still in the defining stage, my focus explores energy-efficient strategies for such wireless sensor networks, encompassing appropriate hardware selection, system architecture and operation, and power management.

 

What do you hope to do with your degree?

I hope to work on next-gen technologies applied to ecological research and education programs. My dream job would partner engineers and ecologists through applied engineering experiences in environmental and wildlife monitoring for conservation and wildlife protection programs.

 

What are your career goals?

Although undecided, I am most intrigued by opportunities in industry and government organizations, with interest in education and outreach components. However, a role in academia seems like a strong fit for me as well.
What are some of your hobbies? What do you do in your free time?

My favorite thing to do is go on nature walks and learn about the environment. I also enjoy painting and sketching, and have helped design simple video games with my boyfriend. I love spending my free time with my boyfriend, our dog, and our two cats! Taking our dog to the park is always at the top of our list when we have time! I also really enjoy volunteering with animal rescue organizations.

 

What’s a fun fact about you?

When I was growing up in Texas, I loved going on horseback trail rides and competed in barrel racing.

Leave a Reply

