Grad member spotlight: Himani Agrawal

29 June 2015

Himani Agrawal

6P6B8566

PhD Student, Expected graduation Spring 2017

Mechanical Engineering, University of Houston

Himani was recently selected for the Schlumberger Foundation Faculty for the Future Fellowship, a prestigious $50,000 per year fellowship awarded to women PhD students from developing countries. You can read more about it here:

https://www.egr.uh.edu/news/201504/schlumberger-foundation-honors-mechanical-engineering-phd-fellowship

 

What is your research?

In the summers right now, I am doing internship at Microsoft Research Redmond. My research interests are Computational Biology and Statistical Mechanics. My research project is “HIV induced membrane softening”. Please visit my research blog: hagrawal.me.uh.edu.

 

What do you plan to do after graduation?

I am very interested in becoming faculty after doing a Post Doc.

 

What are some of your hobbies?

I am very fond of singing and taking Indian Classical Voice Lessons presently. This Fall, I also plan to enroll at the Moore School of Music at UH for Opera Voice Lessons.

 

What’s a fun fact about you?

I am also very fond of travelling. In fact I am travelling to Germany tomorrow to take part in the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting where I will get to meet and interact with 70 Nobel Laureates and also go on a boat trip with them. Apart from that I am invited by the State of Baden-Wurttemberg to explore the German Southwest for a week which include to several universities, labs, German Black-forest and many more exciting places!!!

 

Leave a Reply

