#AcWriMo (Academic Writing Month)

Yesterday I happened across #AcWriMo (Academic Writing Month), which is a writing challenge for academics to write every day in November. This intrigued me for two main reasons: 1. I have a lot to write in November anyway and 2. I need to develop better habits for writing.

To focus on the latter for a moment, I know from Shawn Achor’s The Happiness Advantage: The Seven Principles of Positive Psychology That Fuel Success and Performance at Work that if you do something for 21 days straight you can develop a habit.  Plus, it seems to fall in line with the recommendations of Joan Bolker’s Writing Your Dissertation in Fifteen Minutes a Day: A Guide to Starting, Revising, and Finishing Your Doctoral Thesis, which I have been reading this semester.  There are also numerous other blogs on the internet with similar advice; here are a couple:

The common theme from these blog posts goes beyond the simple daily habit of writing and includes tracking and accountability, which is where #AcWriMo comes in.  So, I would like to challenge other graduate members and academics in SWE to join me for #AcWriMo and hold each other accountable for developing better writing habits.  I have created a Facebook group for people to join to facilitate accountability. You can also find other stepping up to the challenge on Twitter using  #AcWriMo2014.

The original post can be found on my blog at http://www.rebeccaee.com/blog/item/17-acwrimo-academic-writing-month.

Leave a Reply

