SWE Webinar – Preparing Your Tenure Package: Research

Summer is here! Here is a great webinar to watch about the tenure process.

Webinar Date: 10AM ET on Wednesday, June 25th

In this webinar, you’ll hear from two successful female professors at different types of universities. You’ll learn about the importance of research in getting tenure at different types of institutions, what types of research are valued, and what elements of research to emphasize in the package.

Speaker Bios:

Dr. Jacqueline El-Sayed is the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Chief Academic Officer at Marygrove College. She is a professor of mechanical engineering and served on the faculty at Kettering University for 18 years, eventually earning the position of Associate Provost. In addition to her work in academia she has served in industry and government. She is a four-time gubernatorial appointee to the Michigan Truck Safety Commission and, as commissioner, served as chair for two terms. She also chaired the Driver’s Education Advisory Committee and the Motorcycle Safety Advisory Committee for the Michigan Department of State-work that resulted in new legislation for Michigan. Currently Dr. El-Sayed serves as an officer on the Bloomfield Hills Board of Education and chairs several national committees.

Dr. Dawn M. Tilbury is currently the Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education in the College of Engineering, University of Michigan. She received the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering, summa cum laude, from the University of Minnesota in 1989, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1992 and 1994, respectively. In 1995, she joined the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, where she is currently Professor, with a joint appointment as Professor of EECS. Her research interests include distributed control of mechanical systems with network communication, logic control of manufacturing systems, reliability of ground robotics, and dynamic systems modeling of physiological systems. She was elected Fellow of the IEEE in 2008 and Fellow of the ASME in 2012, and is a Life Member of SWE. She is the 2012 recipient of the SWE Distinguished Engineering Educator Award.

Registration Linkhttps://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/386960026


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s